Mints of the World
Royal Norwegian Mint - Den Kongelige Mynt
Mints Index by Country

Mint NameRoyal Norwegian Mint - Den Kongelige Mynt
DescriptionOfficial Norwegian Mint
AddressPO Box 53, 3602 Kongsberg, Norway
Telephone0047 32 29 95 30
Fax0047 32 29 95 50
For America
LanguagesNorwegian, English

Royal Norwegian Mint (Den Kongelige Mynt) was founded in 1686 as part of the Kongsberg Silverworks, to convert the silver extracted from the mines into coins. Before being taken over by Norges Bank (the Central Bank of Norway) in 1962, the Mint had been administered by several different bodies, including the central authorities in Copenhagen and the Ministry of Finance. However, the connection with the Silverworks remained intact until the silver mines were closed down in 1957. On January 1, 2001 the mint was incorporated, with the Central Bank of Norway as their sole owner and shareholder. On June 30, 2003 the Central Bank of Norway sold the company to Samlerhuset AS and Mint of Finland Ltd, each now owning a 50% stake in the Royal Norwegian Mint AS.
This page is part of the "Mints of the World" website, created to provide a list of world mints together with brief contact and other general information about them for coin collectors, dealers, numismatists.